Money Makes the World Go Around!

For some reason, I have always been drawn to stories of heinous, unthinkable crimes. I constantly get sucked into tv shows such as First 48, American Greed, Dateline, Snapped, and pretty much anything on the Investigation Discovery channel (don’t judge me). I will sit through an hour and a half documentary (when I should be doing school work) just to find out in the last five minutes the person’s motive behind the crime. I guess that’s why I majored in psychology in undergrad. I need to know why people do the things they do. It seems to me that more often than not (in cases that involve a real motive), people are motivated by one thing, MONEY! “As Gordon Gekko told us in the movie Wall Street, greed is good, so make sure that you have it working on your side. Yet Mr. Gekko was not entirely correct. Greed can be bad-even for people who are entirely selfish” (Wheelan, 2010).

Well, I can’t think of too many examples of when greed is good, but I have one in particular that’s extremely bad: people exploiting other human beings, even their own children, just to make a dollar. You know money is a powerful motivator if parents are willing to sell their own children to the highest bidder. Some even do so to settle a debt. A woman can go through over 12 hours of labor and then 5 years later sell her over the internet to strangers, knowing their intent is to sexually exploit them. What is the world coming to?

I hate to say it, but money makes the world go ’round. I almost wish it would stop spinning, if it means that innocent people would no longer be sexually exploited so someone else can make a buck at their expense.

2 responses to “Money Makes the World Go Around!

  • hb710

    I seem to always avoid the type of shows you mentioned on TV. I think it’s because I don’t want to be reminded of just how horrible the world really can be. I like watching the shows that allow for happy endings (or at least not realistic endings) so I can pretend what I know is happening just isn’t.

    But you are right, these activities are happening. And they happen because people want the money associate with it. An easy buck. Get rich schemes. Ideas that don’t take into account what effect their love of money has on others.

Leave a Reply

